The Legislature met in joint-session this week to consider the Governor’s nominees to state boards and commissions. The State of Alaska has over 100 boards and commissions that involve Alaskans in the civic and commercial processes of government.  Alaskans are appointed by the Governor and are reviewed by the Legislature for confirmation.  I was pleased the Governor nominated several individuals for re-appointment from Southeast Alaska, including:

Clay Bezenek – Ketchikan – Fisherman’s Fund Advisory & Appeals Council
Christa Bruce-Kotrc – Ketchikan – State Commission for Human Rights
Sheldon Schmitt – Sitka – Alaska Police Standards Council
James Rhodes – Ketchikan – Workers’ Compensation Appeals Commission

Having quality Alaskans involved in government is crucial for our state.  I am glad the Governor re-appointed these individuals and appreciate their service to Alaska.


Comments are closed