

The Secretary of Energy Washington, DC 20585

March 21, 2014

The Honorable Bert Stedman Chairman The Energy Council 5400 Lyndon B. Johnson Freeway, Suite 985 Dallas, Texas 75240

Dear Senator Stedman,

It is my pleasure to invite you to serve as a member of the National Petroleum Council for the 2014-2015 membership term to represent the views of State legislators. The Council is a self-funded advisory body to the Secretary of Energy whose members represent all sectors of the oil and gas industries and related interests. The National Petroleum Council is headed by a Chair and a Vice Chair, who are elected by the Council. These positions are currently held by Mr. James T. Hackett, Former Chairman of the Board, Anadarko Petroleum Corporation, and Mr. Charles D. Davidson, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Noble Energy, Inc.

Created by President Truman in 1946 to continue industry and Government cooperation that began during World War II, the Council provides essential advice, information, and recommendations on matters related to oil and natural gas and the oil and natural gas industries.

Members of the Council are appointed as representatives. Therefore, Federal conflict of interest statutes do not apply. As a matter of policy, however, the Department asks that advisory committee members recuse themselves from participating in any meeting, study, recommendation, or other Council activity that would have a direct and predictable effect on the companies, organizations, or agencies with which they are associated or in which they have a financial interest, unless the potential effect is disclosed and their participation is approved by the Department.

You will find your association with the Council both challenging and rewarding. As illustrated by the Council's recent reports on Advancing Technology for America's Transportation Future and Prudent Development: Realizing the Potential of North America's Abundant Natural Gas and Oil Resources, the work of the Council is important to the Department and the Nation. I hope you will accept this appointment.

You will receive an information package from the Council shortly. For additional information about the Council, or if you have any questions, please contact Mr. Marshall Nichols, the Council's Executive Director, at (202) 393-6100, or Ms. Nancy Johnson, Director, Environmental Science and Policy Analysis, Office of Oil and Natural Gas, at (202) 586-6458. You also are encouraged to visit the Council's public website at www.npc.org for a description of the Council's history, operations and studies.

Sincerely,

Ernest J. Moniz