FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

**PRESS RELEASE** 

# NORTHERN WATERS TASK FORCE APPOINTEES ANNOUNCED Legis. and Exec. Branch positions filled on 11-member Arctic policy group

Monday, August 23, 2010, Anchorage, Alaska – Senate President Gary Stevens, R-Kodiak, and House Speaker Mike Chenault, R-Nikiski, today announced their appointees to the Alaska Northern Waters Task Force. The 11-member task force - comprised of local, state and federal officials from Alaska coastal regions - will meet over the course of the next two years to examine creating a joint state/federal commission responsible for overseeing the development of northern ocean waters. The group will provide recommendations to the legislature by Jan. 20, 2012, with a final report due Jan. 30, 2012.

"I believe we all recognize the strategic and security importance of Arctic waters, and the need to provide comprehensive support and infrastructure should new development take place," Speaker Chenault said. "The task force enabled by HCR 22 allows us to bring in regional leaders from all aspects of government to work with residents, businesses and interests in the region to give all areas a voice and stake in state and federal policy moving forward."

"I am very pleased with the choices we have made for this task force, which will help us establish a federal/state policy group that will define government policy toward development in our Arctic waters," President Stevens said. "I am comfortable that we have appointed a good cross section of legislators, local officials, and others whose constituencies are directly dependent on the Arctic, and who will be directly impacted by any development that takes place there. I look forward to seeing their report."

The task force appointees are:

# **Senators**

Bert Stedman, R-Ketchikan Lyman Hoffman, D-Bethel Donald Olson, D-Golovin (alternate)

### Public members

North Slope Borough Mayor Edward Itta Unalaska City Manager Chris Hladick Nome Mayor Denise Michaels NANA Corp VP Chuck Green AK Marine Conservation Council Chair Dave Kubiak

## Federal member

Pending

# Representatives

Reggie Joule, D-Kotzebue Bob Herron, D-Bethel Bryce Edgmon, D-Dillingham (alternate)

### **Executive Branch**

Dept. of Environmental Conservation Commissioner Larry Hartig Governor's Office Fisheries Policy Advisor Cora Campbell (alternate)

The task force will meet to choose a chair and set their schedule.

# # #

To contact President Stevens, please call 907-486-4925. To contact Speaker Chenault, please call 907-283-7223.